2009-10 Africa-wide women and young professionals in science competitions

The finals of CTA/FARA/AGRA/RUFORUM/ANAFE/NPCA 2009-2010 Africa-wide science competitions were held in Burkina Faso from 19-20 July 2010 as a side event during the 5th African Agricultural Science Week and FARA General Assembly.

The ‘Women in science’ competition was won by Dr Sarah Lubanga Mubiru of Uganda for her work on the Development of the ‘ENDIISA’ decision support tool for improved feeding of dairy cattle in Uganda.

Other winners were Dr Theresia Luvuno Munga of Kenya, Ms Esperance Benedicte Zossou of Benin, Mrs Lalini Unmole of Mauritius and Ms Eunice Wamuyu Githae of Kenya.

The Young Professionals Competition was won by Ms Sandrine Nguiakam of Cameroon for her paper on « Cours des matières premières, recettes budgétaires et croissance économique: Cas de la Cote d’Ivoire ».

Other winners were Mr Kevin Zowe Mganga of Kenya, Ms Aneeza Soobedar of Mauritius, Dr Robert Kajobe of Uganda, Ms Wendkhoumi Sabine Marie Flore Doamba of Burkina Faso and Mr Michael Kwabena Osei of Ghana.

Read the abstracts of the winning papers. Download PDF (178.79KB) – Publisher: CTA Wageningen

Source – Knowledge For Development