SA serves in AU ICT committee

Minister of Telecommunications and Postal Services, Siyabonga Cwele
Minister of Telecommunications and Postal Services, Siyabonga Cwele

By –

Pretoria – The South African government has been elected to serve on the African Union’s Specialised Technical Committee on Information Communications and Technology (STC-CCICT) at a meeting held in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

Thirty-two African Union member states are gathered at the first meeting of the Specialised Technical Committee on ICT which is currently taking place.

Delegates from Mali, Algeria, Tanzania, South Africa, Gabon were also elected to serve on this committee.

“We are humbled that South Africa has been elected onto the committee. This will drive the implementation of the sector programmes in support of the African Union 2063 Agenda of working towards an inclusive and sustainable developed society, with a strong cultural identity promoting common heritage,” said Minister of Telecommunications and Postal Services, Siyabonga Cwele.

He is leading the South African high-level delegation to Addis Ababa which includes senior managers from the Department of Communications, the Department of Telecommunications and Postal Services as well as the Government Communication and Information System.

“South Africa supports the process which emphasises that authority for Internet-related public policy issues is the sovereign right of countries.

“I am happy that the African Union has convened us as member states to discuss this important issue,” Minister Cwele said.

He said the outcomes from the meeting will go a long way in helping fast-track the development of ICT on the continent.