Calls for entries for SADC Media Awards

sadcPretoria – Members of the media are invited to submit their entries for the 2016 SADC Media Awards Competition.

“The competition also consists of the Water Media Awards, which are aimed at recognising stories that promote Integrated Water Resource Management (IWRM) in the SADC [Southern African Development Community] region,” Government Communication and Information System (GCIS) said on Tuesday.

The objective of the awards is to promote regional integration and cooperation, with the broader aim of recognising excellence in journalism. They are also aimed at encouraging media practitioners in SADC member states to cover issues pertaining to the region.

The competition has four categories namely print, photojournalism, television and radio.

“The SADC Media Awards were established in 1996 following a decision by the Council of Ministers to establish a sector that deals with matters relating to, amongst others, information, culture and sport.

“These awards serve as part of ensuring a link, coordination and synchronisation between the formal structures of SADC governments, civil society, academia, labour and the media,” the GCIS said.

The closing date for entries is 29 February 2016.

Journalists who wish to enter the competition can access more information from the GCIS website links:;

Entries need to be posted or delivered to Media Development and Diversity Agency or GCIS offices marked:

SADC Media Awards Entry or SADC Media Awards Entry

MDDA – 4th Floor GCIS – Tshedimosetso House

31 Princess of Wales Terrance 1035 Francis Baard Street

Parktown, Johannesburg Hatfield, Pretoria

2193 0028

For enquiries, the media can contact Themba Sepotokele on 082 490 9869 or Mmemme Mogotsi on 072 856 4288. –


Comments are closed.